How I Found Law

If you would have asked me a year ago today what I wanted to be when I “grow up” I would have chuckled a little and replied, “I am not sure.” A year ago I was a junior in Business school and a legal administrator at a local law firm. I had been working at this law firm since January 2006 and knew that I enjoyed going to work but never considered it to be a life-long career. I had been studying business management and accounting at the University of Nevada, Reno and thought that I wanted to be an accountant.

It was not until about six months ago when I sat down and thought hard about what I actually enjoyed doing. I knew that I loved going to work and loved learning more and more about the law and began to think what it would be like to actually go to law school. I talked to my parents and my boss and they all strongly encouraged me to pursue law school.

So here I am today, eager to complete my undergrad degree in May and start the application process to law school. I hope to be accepted to William S. Boyd School of Law at UNLV because I am a Nevada resident and this would be the best decision financially.

Social media law has emerged and has sparked my interest.  This type of law is spreading rapidly with the explosion of social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter.  There is a no end in sight of social media and or the laws that must be abided.  When I get accepted to law school I am confident that I will focus on a branch of social media law and hopefully I can inform others of these laws along the way.

Leave a Reply

